Global problem

There are countries and territories affected by cluster munitions in every region of the world.

Stockpilers of Cluster Munitions

Prior to the efforts to ban cluster munitions, 93 countries possessed stockpiles of the weapon.

Some states are done destroying their stockpiles, and some States Parties are in the process of destroying their stocks as required by the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

States that used to have stockpiles but no longer possess any: Afghanistan, Angola*, Argentina*, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic*, Chile, Colombia, Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Germany, Honduras, Hungary, Iraq, Italy, Japan, FYR Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Mozambique, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

* Of this list, all are States Parties to the Convention, except Angola and Central African Republic that are signatories, and Argentina that is a non-signatory.

States Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions that still possess stocks that they need to destroy: Bostwana, Bulgaria, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Peru, Slovakia, South Africa, and Switzerland.

States that have signed but not yet ratified the Convention on Cluster Munitions, and that possess stockpiles: Cyprus, Indonesia, Nigeria.

States that have not yet joined the Convention on Cluster Munitions (also called non-signatories) and that possess stockpiles of the weapon: Algeria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Egypt, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, Georgia, Greece, India, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, North Korea, South Korea, Kuwait, Libya, Mongolia, Morocco, Oman, Pakistan, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Sudan, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe.