10 January 2013

Andorra becomes latest country to join the Convention on Cluster Munitions


Andorra has become the latest country to join the global ban on cluster munitions, after depositing its instrument of accession on 9 April.  Andorra will become the 81st State Party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions when its accession enters into force on 1 October 2013 in accord with the waiting period mandated by the Convention.

“As the 112th country to join the Convention on Cluster Munitions, Andorra’s accession strengthens the global stigma against this horrific weapon.” said Cluster Munition Coalition Campaign Manager Amy Little.

The government of Andorra approved accession to the convention on 13 June 2012. On 19 June 2012, Andorra’s Head of Government Antoni Marti Petit submitted an accession proposal to the General Council (legislative body) for consideration and approval, and it was approved by Parliament in December 2012.

Officials confirmed that domestic legislation already complies with the main obligations under the Convention, therefore it is not necessary to develop its internal regulations.

Andorra participated in regional meetings around the Oslo Process that that created the Convention on Cluster Munitions, however it was not among the states, which signed the Convention prior to its August 2010 entry into force. In order to become a State Party to the Convention, therefore, Andorra underwent an “accession” process.

Andorra is the first accession to the treaty in 2013, and follows the ratifications of Nauru (4 Feb), Liechtenstein (4 March) and Chad (26 March). More countries are expected to announce their progress on joining the global ban at the upcoming Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) Intersessional Meeting being held in Geneva, Switzerland, from 15-18 April 2013.

Andorra has never used, produced, transferred, or stockpiled cluster munitions.