Global problem

There are countries and territories affected by cluster munitions in every region of the world.

Affected countries and territories

The following countries are contaminated by cluster munition remnants: Afghanistan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Chad, Chile, Croatia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Germany, Iran, Iraq, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Libya, Montenegro, Serbia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, United Kingdom*, Vietnam, Yemen.

The most heavily affected are Lao PDR and Vietnam, followed by Iraq and Cambodia.

The following territories not internationally recognized are contaminated with cluster munition remnants: Kosovo, Nagorno-Karabakh, Western Sahara.

It is unclear whether there is cluster munition contamination in the following countries: Angola, Azerbaijan, Colombia, Georgia, Tajikistan.

*In the Falkland Islands / Malvinas.